Cultivate Educate Enjoy

Welcome to Memphis Horticultural Society

Welcome to Memphis Horticultural Society

The purpose of the Memphis Horticultural Society (MHS) shall be the study of plants and the exchange of information among the members on the care, cultivation and propagation of plants, their design in the garden, and their survival and protection in the environment.

It shall also be the purpose of the Society to serve as a source of information for and a link between the horticultural community and the media, the general public and future generations.

Meeting Dates and Location

Unless prior notification is given in the Monthly newsletter, all MHS meetings are held on the first Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m. in the auditorium of the Goldsmith Civic Garden Center; located at the Memphis Botanic Garden, 750 Cherry Road, Memphis, Tennessee.


The subject of the program and the speaker will be listed in the monthly newsletter mailed to every member. A tentative schedule of events is listed on the events calendar.
2015 Lineup
January - Dale Skaggs (The Winter Garden)

February - Jason Reeves

March - Tom Pellett

April - Rita Venable

May - Maria Bolinger

June - - Annual Picnic

July - TBA

August - TBA

September - TBA

October - TBA

November - TBA

December - - Christmas Party


MHS dues are paid by the calendar year, January through December. Persons joining after July 1 will be charged half of the annual membership fee. The dues for 2015 are:

$25.00 - Senior Membership (55 years and older)
$30.00 - Individual Membership
$35.00 - Family Membership (two people at the same mailing address)
$75.00 - Corporate Membership

Current Officers and Board

Officers and Board of Directors
President - Thomas Rieman
Vice President Cheryl Lockhart
Secretary - Barbara Gavrock
Treasurer - Bill Ferrell
Ways & Means - open
Membership Chair - Emelia Miekicki
Program Chair: Cheryl Lockhart
Immediate Past President - Larry Griffin

Committee Members
Ways & Means Committee - open
Membership Committee - Betty Griffith & Loretta McCallie
Newsletter Editor - Ginny Fletcher
Newsletter Committee - Ginny Fletcher & Emelia Miekicki
Website Committee - Sharon Lusk
Hospitality / Refreshments - Dawn Bain & Ann Hopper
Floral Arrangements - Members
Plant Exchange - Kay Lindenfeld & Selby Horton
Historian - Larry Griffin
Urban Championship Trees - open


© 2006 The Memphis Horticultural Society • P.O Box 11665 Memphis, TN 38111